Caution – Under Construction

UnderConstruction  Hard Hat Area

I’m tearing things apart and putting them back together. Lots of what I’ve done before will still be there, but in a different order, or with a different consequence, or otherwise changed. Other parts are going to disappear, and new things will be welded on.

Why, you ask?

Because the story was wandering. There was no consistent through line, no overall sense of how it was going to get from A to Z. Also, the beats weren’t working. I know how it will end, but the steps to get there weren’t well planned. I couldn’t tell myself what the story was about with any specificity (it was all fuzzy and generic).

So what’s ahead, you ask?

I’ve decided I’m going to do my own personal MyNoWriMo in July (the only month that makes sense for me to dedicate to this). I’m certainly not the first person to use that idea (see here and here), but I think it has the potential to work for me.

Leading up to that, I will be using Janice Hardy’s NaNoWriMo Prep Guide as a useful tool, suitably adapted for my situation. Then I want to put some stakes in my calendar marking deadlines/due dates I want to hit if this is going to work. I’m making them public here, so that I will stick with them! My deadlines are on Sunday (except the last one – June ends on a Tuesday), which means I will need to post a report no later than the following Monday (sooner, if I beat the deadline).

  • 3/1/15: Set the goal (a full 50,000-word draft, or half a novel?)
  • 3/8/15: Develop my one-sentence pitch line, also known as through line
  • 3/22/15: Establish major set pieces/beats
  • 4/12/15: Develop a rough synopsis
  • 5/3/15: Complete a rough outline or scene sketch
  • 5/24/15: Complete an “idea bank” with the things I want to include in the novel
  • 5/31/15: Plan the beginning of the novel, from opening scene to first major turn
  • 6/14/15: Plan the middle of the novel, including all the twists and complications leading to the ending
  • 6/28/15: Plan the ending of the novel, including the climax and the final resolution
  • 6/30/15: Get all my logistics in place (word-count log, file formats, backups, and so on)

Then – it’s off I go!

5 thoughts on “Caution – Under Construction

  1. Pingback: Lessons From the Treadmill | Word Wacker

  2. Pingback: Word Wacker

  3. Pingback: Six Lessons From the First Draft | Word Wacker

  4. Pingback: Connections: Four Ways Sailing is Like Writing #photochallenge | Word Wacker

  5. Pingback: Happy New Year 2015-2016 | Word Wacker

Leave a Reply

