MyNoWriMo Step 2: Pitch Line

Step 2  The One-Sentence Summary

I’m actually early on this, but I figure it’s going to be subject to change as I move forward, and I’m already working on Step 3 while I revise this, so I’m calling it. Here’s the official one-sentence pitch line for my story:

AFTER FOREVER is about a woman whose life was torn apart by the forces of dark magic and has been on the run ever since, but now the magic is invading our reality and she has to face it down to save the world.

So — whaddya think? I think it’s a work in progress and I hope I can make it better, but this is what I’m working from right now. Seriously, I’d love to hear any reactions from any of my readers (a small but mighty group, I’m sure), so comment away.

Now, it’s on to the part that has thrown me so many times before: the major beats.

Progress so far:

  • 3/1/15: Set the goal (a full 50,000-word draft, or half a novel?) – On time
  • 3/8/15: Develop my one-sentence pitch line – Early
  • 3/22/15: Establish major set pieces/beats
  • 4/12/15: Develop a rough synopsis
  • 5/3/15: Complete a rough outline or scene sketch
  • 5/24/15: Complete an “idea bank” with the things I want to include in the novel
  • 5/31/15: Plan the beginning of the novel, from opening scene to first major turn
  • 6/14/15: Plan the middle of the novel, including all the twists and complications leading to the ending
  • 6/28/15: Plan the ending of the novel, including the climax and the final resolution
  • 6/30/15: Get all my logistics in place (word-count log, file formats, backups, and so on)
Leave a Reply

