Stepping Out

OpenDoor  I’ve opened the door.

I’m a shell-person – an introvert who is anxious about going out and interacting with people I don’t know. Ironic, since I also teach college and interact with hundreds of new people every semester. However, that’s in a context I’m very comfortable with, one where I’ve got 27+ years of experience. Going into a social context that I’m not so familiar with is kind of scary.

There’s a local group of people who are interested in reading and writing science fiction and fantasy: the Rochester Speculative Literature Association (R-SPEC for short). I’ve known about them for months, and even know one of its members pretty well. I’ve been following them on Facebook and meaning to go to one of their meetings, but I kept chickening out. Guess what – last night I went! And it was good. There were about a dozen people, and they were all very welcoming and friendly. They went out of their way to make sure I knew what was happening and how everything worked. And when four members read from their current projects, the comments from the group were supportive and encouraging while still offering good, concrete suggestions for improvement. In addition to sharing works through readings, they have programs with information writers need (how to build a realistic planet, how to handle dialogue, and so on). I think I’m going to join and going to attend again.

Look at me – stepping out there and forming connections.  Yay!

5 thoughts on “Stepping Out

  1. Yay indeed! I know exactly what you are talking about. I battle fears of social situations, also. I didn’t used to comment on blogs, even, worried that I’d look socially awkward (ha! on a blog). Like you I finally decided to open the door and see what it’s like out there. Unknowns always seem more scary than they are.

    Well, you’ve got a new follower now. Me. JEN Garrett

    Like

    • Thanks for your comment, Jen. You don’t need me to say it, but I will anyway – not at all socially awkward! I’m delighted to have a new follower. I’ve linked to your blog on my RSS reader – I don’t know if it comes through as a follower or not. I see you’re doing the A-Z challenge! I didn’t get to that in time to start it this year, but I’ve made a note to try for it next time. It looks like fun. Also – gummy worms!

      Like

  2. Hi Celia! Congrats on getting out there and trying something you’ve wanted to for months… I wish I did more of that! I’m from Grand Island and still have a lot of family in WNY so I know Rochester (a bit!). I was there in September for RocCon helping my sister sell her wares 🙂 R-SPEC sounds awesome and I’d love to find something similar near me.

    I procrastinate this type of stuff because my husband and I are hoping to move from England to Scotland (and have been for some time), so I keep saying, “What’s the point of making new connections if we don’t want to stay here?” But you’ve encouraged me to try something similar 🙂

    Like

    • Hi, Cheyenne. I’ve only been to RocCon once (there’s that shy thing again), but it was fun. I can’t say I’m familiar with your neck of the woods – I spend a couple of days in London once with the Cornell Glee Club, but that’s as close as I’ve been. I hope you get a chance to fulfill your Scotland dreams soon. In the meantime, though, get out there! It’s scary and brave, but if I can do it, you can do it.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Happy New Year 2015-2016 | Word Wacker

Leave a Reply

