I’m Free!!

Free!   Grades are done!

I just submitted the last grades for the last students in my last class. Summer, here I come!

During the month of June I have various events to attend (workshops, meetings, celebrations), but nothing like the demands of teaching 17 credit hours over the last 15 weeks. The semester went pretty well, though; I’m generally pleased with how well my students did, and had some really good experiences watching the lightbulbs go off in class. Still, I’m looking forward to devoting more time to other things, like writing, and sipping tea in the shade.

Memorial Day is the holiday this weekend here in the US where we honor those who have served our country, by barbecuing meat and buying things on sale. It’s also the start of summer for many of us; for instance, my proper Southern-raised mother insisted you can’t wear white before Memorial Day (or after Labor Day in September), and to this day I can’t bring myself to break that rule. On Monday I can put on my white sandals for the first time this year.

How about you? How do you celebrate summer?

2 thoughts on “I’m Free!!

  1. Hope you have a fun summer. I love the start of summer, but I always missed the students who went up to the next level. I worked as a school librarian for almost 10 years.

    Like

    • Yes, by the end of August I’m usually longing for the classroom again. I don’t have the same feeling of missing past students, though, because I rarely see them for more than a single semester. The few I do work with longer than that, though, I will miss.

      Like

Leave a Reply

