Creeping Up on NaNoWriMo – #IWSG

InsecureWritersSupportGroup  Insecure Writer’s Support Group

This here is my first post for the Insecure Writer’s Support Group. This group, dedicated to providing encouragement, sanity, and virtual hugs to insecure writers around the world, welcomes posts any time, but especially on the first Wednesday of each month. This month the event is hosted by M. Pax, Tracy Jo, Patricia Lynne, Rachna Chhabria, Feather Stone, and Randi Lee. Many thanks to the cohosts!

My insecurity today: I just filled out the materials to take part in Camp NaNoWriMo coming up in July. The big official NaNoWriMo is in November each year, but the people at Camp NaNo set up similar events in April and in July. I put in information about me and about my book, and clicked the link that says I want to be put into a cabin, which is a group of up to 12 strangers assigned to work together for the month. I requested that be matched up with others writing in the same genre (fantasy) and same word-count goal (50,000). The actual matching happens on June 20, but as of today I’ve officially put my hand in the air asking for partners. This will be a big deal for me, as I’ve never shared any of my fiction writing with anyone, and our interactions will be in the pressure-cooker of the 31-day deadline. I don’t have enough experience her to have any expectations about how this will work, but I’ve made an important step in putting myself out there.

To all my fellow insecure writers out there: Hi! I feel your butterflies. Let’s haul them out into the sunshine and compare their colorful, delicate markings. Did you know some butterflies migrate 2,000 miles each year? If butterflies can do that, then we should embrace our inner butterflies and soar.

2 thoughts on “Creeping Up on NaNoWriMo – #IWSG

    • Thanks for taking care of my bad link, Alex. I would rather be insecure than incompetent! I’ll be posting next month at the very beginning of camp with my first impressions. I appreciate your work on this project. Thanks again.

      Like

Leave a Reply

