Just Hanging On #IWSG

InsecureWritersSupportGroup

Time again for the Insecure Writer’s Support Group, that monthly opportunity to reach out to other writers and feel just a little less alone. Our awesome co-hosts this month are Sandra Hoover, Mark Koopmans, Doreen McGettigan, Megan Morgan, and Melodie Campbell Thank you!

Last month I reported feeling rather more optimistic than insecure, since a reading of my opening (my first public reading!) had gone pretty well. This month, I’m back on the insecure side. Why? Because since last month I’ve done . . . nothing.

Oh, I’ve done a lot of writing. I’m a college teacher. We live and die by the written word, and I can’t count how much I’ve written over the last month. But on my WIP, nothing at all. Literally not one word, not one glance.

I’m feeling bereft, like a mother whose child moved to the other side of the country and never calls. But it’s not the work that’s left me, it’s me that’s left the work. This is the craziest time of year, as the end of the semester looms just weeks away and everything has to be graded. I’m also working with the team developing a whole test bank for a new book, with a deadline on that in a few weeks. I had Thanksgiving dinner for my family at my house last week (which consumed, in addition to a whole lot of turkey, two of the only three days we get off in the fall semester) and, of course, Christmas is coming. I am in awe of those who do NaNo in November. In my universe it’s just impossible, like getting to the moon by jumping real high, or swimming to Antarctica. Just . . . No.

But doing literally nothing on the writing front? Does that mean I’ve lost the thread? Lost courage? Lost my muse? Can I get any of it back?

I’m just hanging on. One good thing to say about life in academia: no matter how hard a semester is, you can mark on your calendar the day it will be over. Final grades will be turned in by Christmas Eve, no matter what. Then, for sure, I’ll be back on the road to revision. I should be in the think of revision a month from now, when I join hands with everyone in IWSG once again.

I hope.

3 thoughts on “Just Hanging On #IWSG

Leave a Reply

