The Next Steps

RoadIn the last week, I took two significant steps in my journey toward being an actual, published fiction author. Both of them involved opening up to others, but very different sets of others in very different ways. Here’s what I, and why I think it’s important (and also scary).

  • I purchased my own name as a domain name, and set it up as a kind of “landing pad” for people looking for me or reaching out to me. My new domain: www.celiareaves.com. Visit me there! All the hot action, though, will still be here, at WordWacker. The web site is meant to be static, updating rarely as I have major status changes (e.g. published books, fingers crossed!) and directing people over here.
  • I joined a writing critique group! There are five people besides me, all at varying places in their writing journey, and all giving each other support and also solid advice on what works and what doesn’t in their writing and how to improve. Last night was my first meeting; I won’t actually send them anything of my own until the next meeting, two weeks from now. Looking back at how nervous I was about the idea of signing up for any kind of review back on 1/11/15, I can see I’ve come a long way in almost exactly a year. I’m starting to think of my writing as something I can be proud of and want to share with others, even as I know it has a lot of problems and can be improved in countless ways. Yes, those are two contradictory feelings, and yes, I hold both of them at once. Such is the life of a writer!

So that’s where I am right now on my author’s journey. Today, two steps forward; tomorrow, probably one step back. Maybe two! But I’ll keep on keeping on, and I’m glad you’re here on this road with me.

If you’re so inclined, meet me over at the new web site and tell me what you think! www.celiareaves.com.

5 thoughts on “The Next Steps

  1. I am so glad I found you via The Photo Challenge. I am a writer too and have recently begun my journey towards being a published author. My steps have been to write short stories as well as a series. Have started working on improving my writing. All the best for your journey. I hope your dreams come true real soon 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: What Readers Can Do | Word Wacker

Leave a Reply

