Doing Un-work #IWSG

InsecureWritersSupportGroupIt’s time again for the meet-up of the Insecure Writer’s Support Group, that monthly sharing of trouble, perseverance, and strength hosted this month by the awesome  Lauren Hennessy, Lisa Buie-Collard, Lidy, Christine Rains, and Mary Aalgaard. Many thanks to the folks who put this together.

This month I’ve been revising. Well, sort of revising. I’m definitely wielding my pruning shears, as I mentioned last month, but slowly. Each separate editing session goes well, but there haven’t been as many as I would like. Why? Because I keep taking detours into other activities that are definitely writing-related, but not actually working on this specific project.

  • Entering flash fiction contests over on Janet Reid’s blog. Since pruning unnecessary words is one of the things I need to work on, I figured that learning to put together a whole story in just 100 words would be good for me. I’m sure that’s true, but it’s also bee a ton of fun.
  • Revising TexTracks. the other blog I have just for keeping track of the books I read, so that it has a more definite link with my author’s blog over here. Yes, I could managed my book memories on Goodreads, but I started the blog on Blogspot back in 2010 and don’t want to lose all that history by switching over now. So I spent time moving widgets around, connecting to this blog, etc.
  • Keeping up with the WordPress photo challenge. Yes, it’s about a photograph, and I always spend a lot of time finding the right image to fit the week’s theme, but it always includes at least a paragraph of text about the story behind the image. Sometimes this grows into an entire essay, as it did in Fast and Slow where I talk about the perception of time.

So, yes, I’m writing. I’m just not necessarily doing this writing. But if I’m not moving as fast as I should be on the revision, at least I’m still moving, and I will get there. Someday.

One thought on “Doing Un-work #IWSG

  1. Pingback: Flash Fiction 1-3 (Catching Up) | Word Wacker

Leave a Reply

