Tomorrow Never Comes #IWSG

InsecureWritersSupportGroupI’m working my way through my revisions – but very, very slowly. I keep thinking, “Yes, I need to do that, only right now I need to do this, so I’ll get to the revision tomorrow.” But you know what? Tomorrow never comes.

So that’s my insecurity this month. It’s been nearly 2 weeks since I’ve opened the WIP file. I have a critique group waiting for my next chapter, and nothing yet to show them. I keep waiting for the “right time” to work on it, so it keeps getting pushed off.

This is especially baffling, because my critique group has been very helpful – lots of good suggestions on everything from character arc to grammar. They’re supportive and kind while still being focused on changes I need to make. I’m not worried or afraid of what will happen. I’m just keep getting caught up in other day-to-day stuff and shuffling this off to tomorrow.

And tomorrow never comes.

Many thanks to the Insecure Writer’s Support Group (boy, do I need it) and this month’s co-hosts: Megan Morgan, Chris Votey, Viola Fury, Christine Rains, Madeline Mora-Summonte, L.G. Keltner, Rachna Chhabria, and Patricia Lynne!

11 thoughts on “Tomorrow Never Comes #IWSG

  1. Celia, I know exactly what you mean. It is easy to get sucked down into an editing hole. There is always one more thing you can do to make that manuscript just a bit better. I feel like my own worst enemy in this regard. I do think this is common affliction among writers though. I retweeted a cartoon yesterday that showed an “Obsessive, Compulsive Editing Disorder Support Group” – lots of authors were retweeting it. Anyhow, before I first started submitting, I was stuck in this place for several years, and now that I am submitting, I am right back in that same hole again. Good luck. Just one step, one edit at a time. You’ll get there.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Day to day is different. I haven’t open my current WIP for a while too. Something keeps me from it, even though I know exactly what happens in my story and what the heroes are going to do. I haven’t been pushing through the barrier but maybe I should. I hate the writer’s blog. Could we do it together? Push each other?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes – let’s do it! I promise to you, personally, that I’ll get through one revision pass on Chapter 3 by the end of the weekend. You I can comment here or on your own blog about whether I come through or not, but now that I’ve made an actual commitment to an individual I expect I will do it. Thanks for the push! How about you?

      Like

      • I need the push too, Celia. Unfortunately I can’t do it by this weekend. I have to write an article for my newspaper by Sunday, and as a paying assignment, it has priority. But next week, I’m going to push, and I would appreciate you nudging me in that direction. I have the first story of this series – a regency novella – on wattpad and I want to finish the second one. Next week, I promise at least one chapter. Check on me. And thanks a lot for agreeing to do it.

        Liked by 1 person

    • Olga, here I am again on Wednesday. I promised you that I would revise Chapter 3 by Sunday. I almost made it, but it spilled over to Monday, and then yesterday my daughter told me she’s become engaged and we jumped right into wedding thoughts! So I didn’t come through on my promise. But I’ve finished the revision pass now, so I’m only two days later than planned. I’m going to call that “good enough” and keep moving forward. Thanks for the push!

      Like

      • Congratulations on both counts. You finished the stage in your writing project – great! Your daughter became engaged – marvelous!
        I was planning to start working on my novella again on Monday, but then unexpectedly, my editor asked me to write another article, a follow up to the one I sent her already, so my fiction is postponed again. Maybe I can start on it on Thursday. I’m a bit upset, but on the other hand, a paying work is always good.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

