The Towel is Thrown

Remember when i said I’d gotten enough planning done so I could try to write a draft of a new novel this month for Camp NaNoWriMo? Well, it turns out I was wrong. I got almost 15,000 words in on a story, but stalled out completely at that point and have abandoned it, at least for now. Yes, I’m throwing in the towel on this one.

I’m not broken up about this, even though I still love the story I was working on and would have loved to have made it through a draft this summer. Sure it’s disappointing, but more important to me is that I learned a couple of useful lessons. Don’t we all love to learn new things, especially about ourselves?

  • I’m a plotter, through and through.
    • As I was gearing up for this project, one of my writer friends said he doesn’t like writing outlines, because then there’d be no surprises and no fun in the writing. In this my friend writes like E.L. Doctorow, who is famous for saying that writing is “like driving a car at night: you never see further than your headlights, but you can make the whole trip that way.”
    • This is SO not me. If I’m taking a cross-country trip, I like to have the road map planned ahead of time. I can still take detours into side streets that catch my eye, and will discover the details about the towns and cities and shops I pass through.
    • I’ve always thought of myself as a plotter, but now I know for sure. The 15,000 words I wrote were scenes I’d planned and seen in my head ahead of time, at least in general. Once I stepped over the edge of that plan, I was stuck.
  • When I tried to plan the rest of the book, I realized I couldn’t.
    • The story I’ve finished and which is out for beta critique right now mostly takes place in the real world of cell phones and highways, with a fantastical overlay. The part of this new story I hadn’t fully planned and proved unable to actually write was going to be set in a fairly typical fantasy world.
    • To get myself in the mood for this I pulled up an old favorite, Barbara Hambly’s wonderful, if dated, duology The Silent Tower/The Silicon Mage. In it a woman from our world is pulled into a pre-industrial, magical fantasy world and has to fight evil there. Hambly has a graduate degree in medieval history and made that world come alive, from the cities where small boys earn pennies sweeping dung out of the way so their betters can cross, to the tiny hamlets where a bad harvest means starvation and death.
    • Sure, with enough research I might be able to do the same, but I’m not convinced I could and I’m certain I don’t want to spend the amount of time it would take.
    • To resurrect this story i need to go back to square one and figure out how to tell it here. There’s no way to pull that off this month, so I’ve got to set it aside. For now.

These two lessons apply to me and this project. However, they also reflect a larger message that applies to anyone who is a writer or any kind of creative person:

Find and follow your own process

You don’t need to write or create the way anyone else does. Listen to suggestions from friends and teachers and try them on for size, but don’t hesitate to drop them if they don’t work for you. Learn from work you admire, but if it’s not for you don’t force it. You have your own way of being and doing.

That’s always enough.

8 thoughts on “The Towel is Thrown

    • Thank you, Anne. I appreciate your support. I’m actually not grieving at all, which kind of surprises me but it’s true. Trying something that doesn’t work is WAY better than not trying anything new.

      Like

  1. Good on you for going at your own pace! I’m a very minimal planner and I like to see whatever happens in my story happen, but that means drafts are a mess and need a LOT of revision (how do I know this when I actually haven’t finished a draft don’t ask). A lot of the drafts I have thrown in the towel for have come from my own insecurities. But doing it for the sake of your creative process is always a good idea. We should all do what works for us.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: WordWacker is 4! | Word Wacker

  3. You’re doing the right thing. Every writer has her own approach, and it is no use trying to conform to someone else’s.
    Unlike you, I’m much more comfortable with the stories set ‘somewhere else’ instead of here and now. I don’t think you need a degree in medieval studies to write such a story. What I do: I make the rules and (the most important point) stick to them. Those rule don’t have to be the same rules as in the medieval Europe of our world, but they have to be consistent throughout your own story or series.
    I find making all the rules very liberating.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment